AEWs pose for photo opportunityHolding their plaques of recognition and cash awards, the Outstanding AEWs of MiMaRoPa pose for a photo opportunity with Usec. for Operations Engr. Ariel T. Cayanan (7th from R), Regional Executive Director Antonio G. Gerundio (3rd from L), Agricultural Training Institute (ATI) Director Luz A. Taposok (4th from R), MiMaRoPa ATI Center Director Pat Andrew Barrientos (back), OIC Regional Technical Director (RTD) for Operations Division Ronie F. Panoy (2nd from L), RTD for Research and Regulations Dr. Louella Rowena J. Lorenzana (8th from L), Regional Corn and Cassava Coordinator Engr. Ma. Christine C. Inting (L), and other NQCAA committee. (Photo by: Paulo Emmanuel M. Ajose)

The Department of Agriculture (DA) MiMaRoPa Region’s corn sector was once again hailed as Hall of Famer and was given due recognition during the 5th National Quality Corn Achievers Awards (NQCAA) on November 23, 2017. 

Mayor Constantino with MaO juliaThe LGU of Abra de Ilog represented by Mayor Maria Gloria M. Constantino (2nd from R) and MA Julius Judelito A. Amodia (5th from R) along with RED Gerundio, RTD Panoy, RTD Lorenzana, Engr. Inting, Regional Information Officer Baby Clariza M. San Felipe (6th from R), ATI Dir. Taposok, ATI Center Director Barrientos and other NQCAA committee. (Photo by: Paulo Emmanuel M. Ajose)

Wearing their Mangyan attire, proud awardees received their prestigious award. The Local Government Unit (LGU) of Abra de Ilog, Occidental Mindoro represented by Municipal Mayor Maria Gloria M. Constantino was one of the Hall of Famers for Outstanding Municipality and received Php 2M cash. Its Municipal Agriculturist (MA), Julius Judelito A. Amodia, was also hailed as Hall of Famer for being an Outstanding MA for three consecutive years. He also received cash worth Php 45,000.00.

For Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs), all entries of the region were qualified and awarded. They received Php 30,000.00 and plaque of recognition. Out of the 11 AEWs, three (3) were hall of famers and all from the province of Occidental Mindoro. They are Arvin C. Umali from Abra de Ilog and Alrizza C. Zubiri and Ma. Edwina C. Pastrana from San Jose. Other awardees from the same province are: Jenny R. Tria and Abelito R. Aquino Jr. from Sablayan; Mary Darish M. Agito, Dante S. Basilio and Enrique I. Arile from Abra de Ilog; Charito U. Sagun Jr. from Calintaan; Rochelle G Gigante from Rizal; Myra Lyn DF. Adriano from San Jose and Josefina D. Villa from Sta. Cruz. Jerry T. Sotabinto from Palawan is also awarded.

This activity aims to recognize the outstanding contributions of AEWs and LGUs and DA Regional Field Offices in uplifting the production of quality corn in support to the development of the corn industry.

The first CORNUCOPIA Awards also gives outstanding recognition to the resourcefulness of farmer organizations that promotes the production of different corn and cassava products. Five organizations were awarded and one of it is the San Jose Corn Handicraft Association from San Jose, Occidental Mindoro. They received Php 300,000.00 cash.

DA Secretary Emmanuel F. Piñol who was the keynote speaker congratulated all the awardees for their outstanding performances. He encouraged all farmers to look beyond using corn for feeds only and innovate other products out of it.

Sec. Piñol also congratulated the Philippine Maize Federation, Inc. for producing rice corn blend (70/30, 50/50, 30/70, and 100 all natural corn) which was launched during the Congress. He also pledged to offer the product to the supermarkets like SM, Robinsons and Rustans.

A day before the awarding ceremony, 13th National Corn Congress was held with the theme “Reshaping Corn as Staple; for Health and Wellness”. Each regional offices and private agencies showed off their corn products and machinery. Technical sessions also took place to disseminate information regarding corn updates and health benefits.

This three-day activity was held at Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City on November 21-24, 2017.

Back to Top