The awardees with DA- MiMaRoPa showing the "Kamais" handsign on the stage of the National Quality Corn Achievers Awarding Ceremony held at The Farm @ Carpenter Hill, Koronadal City (Photo by: Paulo Emmanuel M. Ajose, DA- RAFIS)

Koronadal City, South Cotabato. Department of Agriculture in partnership with Philippine Maize Corporation (PhilMaize) conducted the 12th National Corn Congress in conjunction with 4thNational Quality Corn Achievers Awarding ceremony with the theme of “Sulong Maisan: Sapat na Pagkain ng Bayan” at the Farm @ Carpenter Hill last November 16-18, 2016 participated by Different regional offices of the DA and its partner agencies together with the local government units.

The Municipality of Abra de Ilog awarded as one of the outstanding municipalities while their Municipal Agriculturist (MA), Julius Judelito Amodia is one of the outstanding MAs.

The outstanding municipalities received a plaque of recognition and 1 million peso worth of project while the outstanding MA received P30,000 check.

Winners in the AEWs Category are Arvin C. Umali and Mary Darish V. Marquez of Abra de Ilog; Alrizza C. Zubiri, Ma. Edwina C. Pastrana, and Myra Lyn D. Adriano from San Jose; Delmo T. Tamo, Jenny R. Tria, Abelito R. Aquino Jr, and Maricris S. Pangatungan from Sablayan; and Charito U. Sagun of Calintaan.

These outstanding AEWs received 20,000 check, medal, and a plaque of recognition.

IMG 4990Delmo T. Tamo (gentleman holding a trophy) as one of the Hall of Fame Awardee in the 4th National Quality Corn Awarding Ceremony. with him are ( L-R )Jupiter Tividad, Occidental Mindo ro's Provincial Corn Coordinator; Engr. Ma. Christine Inting, Regional Corn and Cassava Coordinator; Engr. Roger Navarro, PhilMaize President; Asec Federico Laciste, National Rice and Corn Coordinator, Luz A. Taposok, ATI Director;Cipriano G. Santiago, DA- MiMaRoPa Regional Executive Director ;Dr. Louella Rowena J. Loernzana, OIC- RTD for Research and Regulation ; Engr. Elmer Ferry, OIC OTD for Operations,Gerry Laredo APCO  of Occidental Mindoro and,Pat Andrew Barrientos, ATI Regional Director; received  award  for AEWs. (PHOTO BY: Paulo Emmanuel M. Ajose, DA- RAFIS)

Delmo T. Tamo, ranked as no. 1 AEW and Hall of Fame awardee for Outstanding AEWs, received another plaque of recognition and additional 10,000 check.

Quality Corn Achievers award is an annual activity of the Department of Agriculture together with PhilMaize and other government agencies that give credits on the efforts and contributions of the corn farmers in producing high yield of corn.

 The DA MiMaRoPa Region by Regional Executive Director Atty. Cipriano G Santiago, Regional Technical Director (RTD) for Research and Regulations. Louella Rowena J. Lorenzana, OIC RTD for Operations Engr. Elmer Ferry, Operations Chief Ronie F. Panoy and Corn Focal Person Engr. Christine Inting attended the said event.

Other attendees from the region were the Mayor of Abra de Ilog, Maria Gloria Montenegro- Constantino; Occidental Mindoro’s Provincial Corn Coordinator, Mr. Jupiter Tividad; members of Sangguniang Bayan of Abra de Ilog, Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs) from Occidental Mindoro, and Leon E. Bonilla, the Gawad Saka nominee for Outstanding Corn Farmer, selected corn Farmers’ Association (FA’s) in the region.

The participants of the MiMaRoPa region used Iraya Mangyan tribe clothing which is made of “katsa” cloth and flattened tree bark as a design to represent the Mangyans of Mindoro.

The event was followed by the 12th National Corn Congress where different topics discussed about issues and concerns of the corn industry.

Back to Top