2016-10-18-gawadsakaUp: 2016 Quality Corn Achievers Awardees; Down: 2016 Regional Gawad Saka Winners

The Department of Agriculture Regional Field Office MiMaRoPa conducted the 2016 Regional Gawad Saka and Quality Corn Achievers Awarding Ceremony at Tagaytay Haven Hotel and Resort October 18, 2016.

Gawad Saka aims to give credit to the hard works of the farmers and fisherfolk on their chosen field. Also, to give recognition to the Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs) for their exemplary efforts to produce Outstanding awardees. On the other hand, Quality Corn Achievers Award aims to give credit to any individual or organization who excelled in producing high yield and good quality corn.

This event was spearheaded by Regional Agriculture and Fisheries Information Section (RAFIS) headed by Ms. Baby Clariza M. San Felipe, Regional Gawad Saka Coordinator, and Engr. Ma. Christine Inting, Corn Program focal person.

The event were attended by the different Agricultural Extension Workers, Farmer Technicians, Municipal Agricultural Officers (MAOs), Municipal Agriculturist (MA), Agricultural Program Coordinating Officer (APCO), and Provincial Agriculturists (PAs) of MiMaRoPa Region.

The program started with the messages from OIC RTD for Operations Engr. Elmer Ferry and Chief of Field Operations Ronie F. Panoy.

Both congratulated the participants especially the technicians for their extreme hard work to produce awardees. Panoy mentioned that this kind of recognition will be done also to other commodities and it will be done yearly.

2016-10-18-gawadsaka2Atty. Cipriano G. Santiago while delivering his speech

Atty. Cipriano G. Santiago, DA MiMaRoPa’s Regional Executive Director warmly welcomed all the awardees and attendees with a grin on his face.

After his welcome remarks, he continued to read the message of DA’s Director of Field Operations Service, Engr. Roy M. Abaya. Dir. Abaya greeted all the participants and mentioned the Province of Occidental Mindoro for their contribution in corn production. He emphasized about the quality of the corn that the region is producing. He also discussed the qualifications to be a Gawad Saka Nominee.

“Kung titignan ko ang Occidental Mindoro ay maliit na lugar sa pagmamaisan kumpara sa Isabela o sa Mindanao subalit may napakalaking kontribusyon ang province na kahit maliit ay Hall of Famer… Bakit kaya? Ito marahil ay sa masisipag at magagaling na mga AEWs at sasuporta ng mga LGUs at sa magandang ugnayan ng DA MiMaRoPa. Sabi nga “maliit man, nakakapuwing din",  read by the Director.

At the end of his speech, he again congratulated all the participants and told that they should share their knowledge to other farmers and fisherfolk and also be an inspiration to others so that they will also be able to achieve what they got now.

After their inspiring messages, the Awarding Ceremony with the participation of RED Santiago, OIC RTD for Operations Engr. Elmer Ferry, acting RTD for Planning and Regulation Louella Rowena J. Lorenzana, and Mr. Ronie F. Panoy, Chief of Operations Division handed the plaques, checks, cash awards to the winners.

Regional Gawad Saka Outstanding Achievers are from the Municipality of Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro namely: Leon E. Bonilla Jr. for Corn Category, Lamberto B. Untalan for High Value Crops, Jeffrey P. Ortilano for Fish Capture, Winnie B. Quitioan for Pond Culture, Ruben Gerance and Family for Fisher Folk Family, and San Miguel Multi-Purpose Cooperative for Small Farmer Organization. They received P30,000 in cash and a plaque of recognition.

Other Awardees from the Municipality of Narra and Puerto Princesa City, Palawan namely: Narra Municipal Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Management Council for Municipal Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Management Council (MFARMC); and Puerto PrincesaAgri-Producers Marketing Association for City Food Terminal. The organizations received P50,000 in cash and a plaque of recognition.

The assisting MAs, coordinators, and technicians also received a plaque of recognition and cash awards under Quality Corn Achievers.

Abra de Ilog, Occidental Mindoro won as the Outstanding Municipality for Quality Corn Achievers and their MA, Julius Judelito A. Amodia as the Outstanding Municipal Agriculturist.

For the outstanding Agricultural Extension Worker, The Municipalities of Sablayan, San Jose, Abra de Ilog, and Calintaan, Occidental Mindoro bagged the award.

The winners from Sablayan are: Delmo T. Tamo, Jenny R. Tria, Abelito R. Aquino Jr., and Maricris, Pangatungan. For San Jose: Engr. Alrizza C. Zubiri, Ma. Edwina C. Pastrana, and Myra Lyn D. Adriano. From Abra de Ilog: Arvin C. Umali and Mary Darish M. Agito. And Charito U. Sagun from Calintaan. They received plaque of recognition and P70,000 in cash

All of the outstanding AEWs, municipality and MA will vie in the National Quality Corn Search.

In response, MA Julius Judelito A. Amodia and Leon E. Bonilla Jr. gave their impression to the program of the DA.

2016-10-18-gawadsaka3Left: MA Julius Judelito Amodia expresses his gratitude to DA; Right: Leon E. Bonilla Jr., stating his response on behalf of the awardees 

“At bilang pong isa sa mga tumatanggap ng suporta mula sa ating Department of Agriculture MiMaRoPa ay taos puso po kaming nagpapasalamat sa suporta na tinatanggap namin. Dapat po na patuloy na palakasin ang ating mga samahan dahil ito po ang magbibigayng mas malakingboses para sa ating mga magsasaka para po mas mapaangat natin ang kabuhayan at ganun din po namaitaas natin ang kalidad ng buong rehiyonng MiMaRoPa at para mas lalo pa tayong kilalanin pagdating po sa Food Security and Self Sufficiency,” MA Amodia said.

While Bonilla, representing the Gawad Saka winners, thanked all the people who helped him to become successful in his chosen field. He expressed his gratitude to Dir. Santiago, MAO Lina T. de Leon of Sablayan and AEW Jenny Tria for their utmost support and encouragement to be more productive and to produce high quality crops.

He also thanked Almighty God for giving him strength to go on his life. “With Him, all things are possible,” he said.

To end the program, RTD Lorenzana gave her Closing message and congratulated the awardees for the job well done.

She challenged the participants to work harder to get National Award like she got in 2011 as the recipient of National Agricultural Scientist award for her study about Mango Pulp Weevil.

The program was ended with a smile in everyone’s faces and was followed by a dinner and socials.

Gawad Saka is an annual recognition of DA to outstanding farmers and fisher folks who became successful on their own field. Meanwhile, Regional Quality Corn Achievers Awarding Ceremony is the first under Corn Program

The awardees were glad that they were being recognized in this way. They would like the department to conduct this one-of-a-kind event annually.

Back to Top