Tagaytay City. Occidental Mindoro is one of the five (5) provinces hailed as Top Quality Corn producers. Others were Pangasinan, Isabela, Misamis Oriental and Agusan del Sur. Each province received P3 million pesos worth of project of their choice. Governor Mario Gene Mendiola received the plaque from Cong. Leandro Mendoza and Secretary Processo J. Alcala. They were likewise surprised by Sec Alcala that the top five provinces will be given a 4wheel drive tractor, 90 HP for their respective provinces.

On the municipal level, the Municipalities of Sablayan and Mamburao were among the 24 recognized winners and awarded half million pesos each worth of projects . Mayors Eduardo B. Gadiano and Voltaire Villarosa of sablayan and mamburao respectively received the plaques. Other winners are Laoag City in Ilocos Norte, San Carlos, Bautista, Mangatarem, Malasiqui and Bayambang in Pangasinan, Solana, Cauayan, Ilagan City Diadi and Villa verde in Nuvea Viscaya, Magalang in Pampanga, San Miguel, Tarlac, Calamba City, Ligao City, Naga and Tigaon, Bicol, Malaybalay, Bukidnon, Tangub City, Occidental Mindoro, Claveria, Misamis Oriental, Las Nievas, Agusan del Norte and Esperanza, Agusan del Sur.

The top 71 Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs) each received P10,000 pesos in cash. Awardees as AEWs in Sablayan were Lolita Tapia, Evelyn Cabalbag, Whilma Sagun and Elsa Reyes from Mamburao. Corn Coordinators Jupiter Tividad, Ms. Elma Tamo, and Evelyn Flores reveiced P20,000 and P15,000 in cash as incentives.

Other officials graced the occasion were ASEC Edilberto De Luna, Usec Dante Delima, Usec Segfredo Serrano, Mr. Philip Shull, Agricultural Counselor and the Regional Executive Directors and Regional Corn Coordinators from the different regional offices of DA.


Regional Executive Director

Citizen's Charter


The following are publication which the general public may avail of. For more information and inquiries, please contact Department of Agriculture MIMAROPA - Regional Agricultural and Fisheries Information Section (RAFIS).

Back to Top